Kim Reynolds, Governor
Adam Gregg, Lt. Governor
Stephen Larson, Administrator

Legal Resources

Penalties

Clerks & Retailers

A CLERK that sells tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products to an underage person WILL BE CHARGED WITH A SIMPLE MISDEMEANOR AND WILL FACE THE FOLLOWING PENALTIES:

  • 1st violation = $100 fine
  • 2nd violation = $250 fine
  • 3rd and subsequent violations = $500 fine

A CLERK MAY SEIZE A FALSE OR ALTERED DRIVER’S LICENSE OR NON-OPERATOR’S IDENTIFICATION CARD, turn it over to law enforcement officials within 24 hours, and must issue a receipt to the license’s owner.
A RETAILER that sells tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products to an underage person WILL FACE THE FOLLOWING PENALTIES:

  • 1st violation = $300 civil penalty
  • 2nd violation (within 2 years) = $1,500 fine OR 30-day suspension
  • 3rd violation (within 3 years) = $1,500 AND 30-day suspension
  • 4th violation (within 3 years) = $1,500 AND 60-day suspension
  • 5th violation (within 4 years) = Revocation

Persons under Age 18

A PERSON UNDER AGE 18 in possession or attempting to purchase tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor products WILL FACE THE FOLLOWING CIVIL PENALTIES:

  • 1st offense = $50 (plus 8 hours of community service)
  • 2nd offense = $100 (plus 12 hours of
    community service)
  • 3rd and subsequent offenses = $250 (plus 16 hours of community service)

AN UNDERAGE PERSON that uses a false or altered driver’s license or non-operator’s identification card to purchase tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor products WILL ALSO BE CHARGED WITH A SIMPLE MISDEMEANOR (up to a $100 fine).

Permission is hereby granted to reprint this document with acknowledgement to the Alcoholic Beverages Division of the Iowa Department of Commerce.

For further information regarding tobacco laws, please refer to Iowa Code Chapter 453A.

Printed from the website on May 28, 2017 at 3:49am.