License Classifications


  1. Home
  2. Licensing
  3. License Classifications

The Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division issues licenses and permits as specified by Iowa law. License classifications fall into three main categories – retail, wholesale, and manufacture/import. Although seasonal licenses are available in certain classifications, most licenses expire one year from the date of issuance.

Select a License Category or enter your key words into the License Class/Privilege Type search field to narrow the results.

Enter a word or phrase to search for



Five-day, 14-day, 6-month and 8-month licenses/permits are available for class "A", "B", "C", "D", special class "C" liquor licenses & a class "B" beer permit.

Five-day, 14-day, 6-month, 8-month and 12-month permits are available for a class "C" native wine permit.

Only a 12-month license is available for the class "C" native distilled spirits liquor license.



6-month, 8-month, 12-month, 14-day and 5-day permits are available for class "B" wine permits. Only 12-month licenses/permits may be issued for class "E" liquor licenses and class "C" beer permits.



Under IC § 123.22, the Division is the sole wholesaler of alcoholic liquor. The Division sells alcoholic liquor to class "E" liquor licensees only.  Class "E" liquor licensees may sell alcoholic liquor to the general public for off-premises consumption. Class "E" liquor licensees may also sell to on-premises liquor licensees when in possession of a federal wholesaler's basic permit


Additional Privileges/Sub-Permits


When privileges are added after the license/permit effective date, fees are prorated and not refundable.

Update Applications