License Classifications

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. Licensing
  3. License Classifications

The Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division issues licenses and permits as specified by Iowa law. License classifications fall into three main categories – retail, wholesale, and manufacture/import. Although seasonal licenses are available in certain classifications, most licenses expire one year from the date of issuance.

Select a License Category or enter your key words into the License Class/Privilege Type search field to narrow the results.

Enter a word or phrase to search for

On-Premises

Class "F" Retail Alcohol License (LF) — non-profit clubs (members and guests only)

Allows non-profit clubs to sell alcoholic liquor, wine, and beer for on-premises consumption only; no carry-out sales. Sales are restricted to members and guests only, not the general public.

Alcohol types: Liquor, Wine, Beer
Available durations: 12-month, 8-month, 14-day, 5-day
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Optional Privileges: Outdoor Service, Living Quarters
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease
Dramshop verification required. Details
Fees:
Conditions 12-Month 8-Month 14-Day 5-Day
In city over 2,000 and club has more than 250 members $780.00 $390.00 $195.00 $97.50
In city under 2,000 or club with less than 250 members $520.00 $260.00 $130.00 $65.00
Veterans organization open one day per week, or 52 days or less, per year $260.00 $130.00 $65.00 $32.50
Special Class "C" Retail Alcohol License (BW) — taverns, bars, restaurants, etc

Allows commercial establishments to sell wine and beer for on-premises consumption. Allows carry-out sales of wine and beer. Allows a Brewpub (beer manufacturing) sub-permit to be added.

Alcohol types: Wine, Beer
Available durations: 12-month, 8-month, 14-day, 5-day
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Optional Privileges: Outdoor Service, Living Quarters
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease
Dramshop verification required. Details
Fees:
Classification 12-Month 8-Month 14-Day 5-Day
Within cities of 15,000 or more $585.00 $292.50 $146.25 $73.13
Within cities more than 2,500 but less than 15,000 $390.00 $195.00 $97.50 $48.75
Within cities of 2,500 or less $195.00 $97.50 $48.75 $24.38
Class "D" Retail Alcohol License (LD) — trains, airplanes, and watercraft

Allows railroads, air common carriers, and passenger-carrying boats or ships operating inland or on boundary waters to sell alcoholic liquor, wine, and beer for on-premises consumption only. No carry-out sales.

Alcohol types: Liquor, Wine, Beer
Available durations: 12-month, 8-month, 14-day, 5-day
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Optional Privileges: Living Quarters
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease
Dramshop verification required. Details
Fees:
Classification 12-Month 8-Month 14-Day 5-Day
Boats $150.00 $75.00 $37.50 $18.75
Trains $500.00 $250.00 $125.00 $62.50
Planes $500.00 $250.00 $125.00 $62.50
Class "C" Retail Alcohol License (LC) — taverns, bars, restaurants, etc

Allows commercial establishments to sell alcoholic liquor, wine, and beer for on-premises consumption. Allows carry-out sales of liquor, wine, beer, and mixed drinks or cocktails. Allows a Brewpub (beer manufacturing) sub-permit to be added. Also is the only retail option for BAN, WAN, and ND license types.

Alcohol types: Liquor, Wine, Beer
Available durations: 12-month, 8-month, 14-day, 5-day
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Optional Privileges: Outdoor Service, Living Quarters
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease
Dramshop verification required. Details
Fees:
Classification 12-Month 8-Month 14-Day 5-Day
Within cities of 15,000 or more $1,625.00 $812.50 $406.25 $203.13
Within cities more than 2,500 but less than 15,000 $1,170.00 $585.00 $292.50 $146.25
Within cities of 2,500 or less $715.00 $357.50 $178.75 $89.38
Charity Beer, Spirits, and Wine Special Event License (CE) — Non-profit entities

Allows an authorized non-profit entity to auction beer, alcoholic liquor, and wine during an event which raises funds solely to be used for educational, religious, or charitable purposes. Also allows an authorized non-profit entity to host a charity event and serve alcoholic beverages using another business's retail alcohol license. 

The permit is valid for 36 consecutive hours, and the authorized non-profit entity may receive up to two permits per calendar year.

Alcohol types: Liquor, Wine, Beer
Available durations: Up to 36 consecutive hours
Required Documents: Written Agreement from Licensee Covering Premises (Charity Event Only)
Fees:
Duration Fee
Up to 36 hours $100.00

Off-Premises

Class "B" Retail Alcohol License (LG) — grocery, liquor and convenience stores, etc

Allows for the sale of beer and wine for off-premises consumption. No sales by the drink. Also allows wholesale sales to on-premises class "C", special "C", "D", and "F" retail alcohol licensees but must have a TTB Federal Wholesale Basic Permit.

Alcohol types: Wine, Beer
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Optional Privileges: Outdoor Service, Living Quarters
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease, TTB Basic Permit
Fees:

Fee structure is population-based first, then by square footage.

Population Square Footage
Less than 1,500 sq. ft. 1,501 - 2,000 sq. ft. 2,001 - 5,000 sq. ft. Over 5,000 sq. ft.
Over 15,000 $250.00 $350.00 $500.00 $750.00
2,501 - 14,999 $150.00 $250.00 $350.00 $500.00
Less than 2,500 $75.00 $150.00 $250.00 $350.00
Class "E" Retail Alcohol License (LE) — grocery, liquor and convenience stores, etc

Allows for the sale of alcoholic liquor, wine, and beer for off-premises consumption. No sales by the drink. Also allows wholesale sales to on-premises class "B", "C", special "C", "D", and "F" retail alcohol licensees but must have a TTB Federal Wholesale Basic Permit.
 

Alcohol types: Liquor, Wine, Beer
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Eligible for automatic renewal.
Optional Privileges: Outdoor Service, Living Quarters
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease, TTB Basic Permit
Fees:

Fee structure is population-based first, then by square footage.

Population Square Footage
Less than 1,500 sq. ft. 1,501 - 2,000 sq. ft. 2,001 - 5,000 sq. ft. Over 5,000 sq. ft.
Over 15,000 $2,500.00 $3,500.00 $5,000.00 $7,500.00
2,501 - 14,999 $1,500.00 $2,500.00 $3,500.00 $5,000.00
Less than 2,500 $750.00 $1,500.00 $2,500.00 $3,500.00
Special Class "B" Retail Native Wine License (WBN) — grocery, liquor and convenience stores, etc

 Allows for the sale of Iowa native wine for off-premises consumption. No sales by the drink.

Alcohol types: Native Wine
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Optional Privileges: Outdoor Service, Living Quarters
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $125.00

Manufacturing/Wholesaling/Importing

Class "A" Wine Permit (Native) (WAN) — Iowa native wine manufacturers

Allows for the manufacture and sale of native wine at wholesale to licensed retailers and to other wine wholesalers (in and out of state). Also allows for the sale of native wine at retail at the winery for off-premises consumption. For information on additional locations, see additional location.

Alcohol types: Wine
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease, TTB Basic Permit, Zoning Letter
Bond Required: $5000.00 Wine Wholesale Bond
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $100.00
Vintner's Certificate of Compliance (CV) — Vintners, manufacturers, importers of wine

Allows a manufacturer, vintner, bottler, importer, or vendor to ship wine into Iowa for resale by licensed wine wholesalers.

Alcohol types: Wine
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Eligible for automatic renewal.
Required Documents: TTB Basic Permit
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $200.00
Class "A" Native Distilled Spirits License (ND) — Iowa native distilled spirits manufacturers

Allows for the manufacture of native distilled spirits for sale to ABD and customers outside of the state. Also allows for the limited sale of native distilled spirits at retail at the native distillery for off-premises consumption.

Alcohol types: Liquor
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Optional Privileges: Outdoor Service, Living Quarters
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease, TTB Basic Permit, Zoning Letter
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $300.00
Class "A" Beer Permit (BA) — Wholesale beer distributors

Allows for the sale of beer, high alcoholic content beer, and canned cocktails at wholesale to licensed retailers and to other beer wholesalers (in and out of state).

Alcohol types: Beer
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Optional Privileges: Living Quarters
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease, TTB Basic Permit, Zoning Letter
Bond Required: $10000.00 Beer Wholesale Bond
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $750.00
Class "A" Beer Permit (Native) (BAN) — Iowa beer manufacturers

Allows for the manufacture and sale of beer, high alcoholic content beer, and canned cocktails at wholesale to licensed retailers and other beer wholesalers (in and out of state).

Alcohol types: Beer
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Optional Privileges: Living Quarters
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease, TTB Basic Permit, Zoning Letter
Bond Required: $10000.00 Beer Wholesale Bond
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $300.00
Special Class "A" Beer Permit (Brewpub) — Class "C" and Special Class "C" Retail Alcohol License Holders Only

Allows for the manufacture of beer, high alcoholic content beer, and canned cocktails on the premises for on- or off-premises consumption. See details.
 

Alcohol types: Beer
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease, TTB Basic Permit
Bond Required: $10000.00 Beer Wholesale Bond
Dramshop verification required. Details
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $300.00
Brewer's Certificate of Compliance (CB) — Brewers, manufacturers, importers of beer

Allows a manufacturer, brewer, bottler, importer, or vendor to ship beer into Iowa for resale by licensed beer wholesalers.

Alcohol types: Beer
Available durations: 12-month
Required Documents: TTB Brewer's Notice
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $200.00
Class "A" Wine Permit (WA) — Wholesale wine distributors

Allows for the sale of wine at wholesale to licensed retailers and to other wine wholesalers (in and out of state)

Alcohol types: Wine
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease, TTB Basic Permit, Zoning Letter
Bond Required: $5000.00 Wine Wholesale Bond
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $750.00
Manufacturer's License (CM) — Manufacturers of alcoholic liquor

Allows for the manufacture, storage, and sale of alcoholic liquor to ABD and to customers outside of Iowa.

Alcohol types: Liquor
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Required Documents: Sketch of Premises, Deed/Final Sales Contract or Lease, TTB Basic Permit, Zoning Letter
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $300.00
Distiller's Certificate of Compliance (CD) — Distillers, manufacturers, importers of distilled spirits

Allows a manufacturer, distiller, or importer to ship alcoholic liquor into Iowa for resale by ABD.

Alcohol types: Liquor
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Eligible for automatic renewal.
Required Documents: TTB Basic Permit
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $200.00
Broker's Permit (SP) — Marketers, promoters of alcoholic liquors

Allows the presentation and promotion of alcoholic liquor in Iowa.

Alcohol types: Liquor
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $25.00

Shipper/Carrier

Wine Direct Shipper Permit (DS) — Wine manufacturers

Allows wineries to ship bottles of wine directly to consumers at their personal residence in Iowa.

Alcohol types: Wine
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Eligible for automatic renewal.
Required Documents: TTB Basic Permit, Home State License
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $25.00
Wine Carrier Permit (AC) — Shipment carriers

Allows a designated carrier to transport wine shipped from a wine direct shipper permit holder to a personal residence in Iowa.

Alcohol types: Wine
Available durations: 12-month
12-month licenses can be renewed annually.
Fees:
Duration Fee
12-month $100.00

Additional Privileges/Sub-Permits

Living Quarters — all license types

Separates private living quarters from the licensed premises; protects licensee/permittee from warrantless searches of living quarters. See details.

Outdoor Service — all license/permit classes

Allows the selling/serving of alcoholic beverages permitted by the licensee/permittee in a designated, adjacent outdoor area. See details.

Catering — class "C" Retail Alcohol Licenses (only 12-month)

Allows catering of alcoholic liquor, wine, beer, and wine coolers as part of a food catering service and served without cost to the guests. No sales by the glass. See details.

Alcohol types: Liquor, Wine, Beer
NOTE: —

When privileges are added after the license effective date, fees are prorated and not refundable.

Update Applications

Transfer Application — All license types.

Allows license to be transferred from one location to another either temporarily or permanently, only within the boundaries of the current approving local authority. See details.

Additional Location — For class "A" wine permittees (WAN).

Allows a licensed native winery to sell products for off-premises consumption only at a separate location. Tastings of wine are allowed pursuant to 185 Iowa Administrative Code section 16.7. See details.

Refund Application — All annual license types.

Allows a refund of any full unused quarters of a 12-month license.

Available durations: 12-month
Ownership Update Application — All annual & seasonal license types.

Allows licensee/permittee to update the ownership or officers of their business. Supporting documents shall accompany the application to the local authority. See details.