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MEMORANDUM 
 

 
To:  Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine & Vapor Product Retailers  

From:  Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division 

Date:  June 30, 2020 

Re: Minimum age for tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, 

vapor products, and cigarettes 

 

 
The purpose of this memorandum is to inform retailers of tobacco, alternative nicotine 

and vapor products of legislative changes increasing the minimum age relative to 

various activities relating to these products from 18 years of age to 21 years of age. 

SF2268 establishes the minimum age relative to various activities relating to tobacco, 

tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, and cigarettes, making 

penalties applicable, and including effective date provisions. 

On June 29th, Governor Reynolds signed legislation which increased the state 

minimum age to purchase tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products from 18 to 

21 years. State of Iowa law is now reflective of the federal minimum age to purchase 

which was raised on December 20, 2019. Retailers must not sell, give or supply any 

tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes 

to anyone under the age of 21 years.  

The State of Iowa will update websites and other materials, in a timely manner to reflect 

this change in law. This includes updates to the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division’s 

retailer training and certification programs, I-PLEDGE and I-PACT, and the Iowa ABD 

Age to Purchase Mobile App.  

If you have any questions regarding this memorandum, please contact us at 

iapledge@iowaabd.com. 

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/legislation/BillBook?ga=88&ba=SF%202268

