
*This article is intended to provide 
general information for reference only 
and should not be considered legal 
advice or a substitute for legal counsel. 

YOU HAVE QUESTIONS.  WE HAVE ANSWERS. 

Do you have a question about Iowa laws, administrative rules, Division policies 
or anything else that affects you and your business? If you need clarification 
on an issue, chances are that others do too. Submit your questions by email to  
Schaffer@IowaABD.com and use “legally speaking” as the subject of your email.

A PRIVILEGE 
THAT CATERS 
TO LICENSEES

all of the following criteria: 

•	 Attendees are limited to 
the bona fide social host and 
invited guests; the general 
public may not have access at 
the time alcoholic beverages are 
kept, dispensed and consumed. 

•	 Not of a commercial nature.  

•	 Goods or services are 
not sold or purchased at the 
time alcoholic beverages are 
dispensed and consumed.  

•	 Use of the location was 
obtained without charge or 
rent or any other thing of value 
was exchanged for its use. 

•	 No admission fee or other 
kind of entrance fee, fare, ticket, 
donation or charge is made or 
required of invited guests to 
enter.

•	 Not a licensed premises.

For those licensees that don’t 
qualify for the catering privilege 
there is always the possibility of 
transferring a license or obtaining 
a special event license.

Special Event Licenses 

A special event license allows 
the license holder to sell and 
dispense alcoholic beverages for 
a shorter period of time; a 5-day 
license is the shortest special 
event license available. Licensing 
requirements for a 5-day license 
are the same as the requirements 
for an annual license of the same 
class.

Conclusion  

Summer and fall are perfect 
times for festivities and with 
many alternatives, licensees 
may choose what licensing 
option best suites the occasion. 
To review your special event 
questions with a licensing 
specialist contact the Division 
at 1-866-469-2223, option 1 or  
515-281-7400, option 1.

Licensees looking to cater 
food and alcoholic beverages 

at a wedding, birthday party, 
anniversary or any private event 
will find the catering privilege 
a valuable addition to a liquor 
license. And the best part of 
adding the catering privilege is 
that it doesn’t cost a thing! 

The catering privilege is available 
to licensees that hold an annual 
class “B” or “C” liquor license. 
The catering privilege allows 
these licensees to provide and 
serve alcoholic liquor, wine, and 
beer as part of a food catering 
service for a private social 
gathering in a private place. The 
food and alcoholic beverages 
must be served to guests of the 
private social gathering without 
cost and neither the host of the 
event or the licensee may solicit 
donations in payment for the food 
or alcoholic beverages. A licensee 
catering food and alcoholic 
beverages must maintain a record 
that includes the date the catering 
was provided and the name and 
address of the host of the event.

For the event to qualify as a private 
social gathering, the private place 
must be a location that meets 


