
I-PLEDGE ONLINE TOBACCO,
ALTERNATIVE NICOTINE &
VAPOR PRODUCTS TRAINING

Why should you participate in I-PLEDGE? 
The overall goal of I-PLEDGE is an increase of vol-
untary compliance with the state’s tobacco, alter-
native nicotine and vapor products laws through 
education and enforcement. The core objective of 
the program is to prevent illegal sales of tobacco, 
alternative nicotine and vapor products by educat-
ing retailers and increasing awareness of changes 
in Iowa’s tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor 
products laws.

What will you learn from I-PLEDGE? 
While enforcement of Iowa’s tobacco, alternative 
nicotine and vapor product laws is an important 
goal of I-PLEDGE, education of both law enforce-
ment and the state’s retailers is the primary 
focus of the program. The content focuses on key 
identifying elements of the latest format of Iowa 
driver’s licenses, but also includes information on 
the previous version of licenses and identification 
cards. I-PLEDGE covers valid forms of identifica-
tion and how to spot altered and fake IDs.
The program focuses on preventing underage 
sales and when not to make a sale. Participants 
will learn techniques for refusing the sale of 
tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products 
with minimal confrontation and how to legally 
confiscate an altered or fake ID.

Who should take the I-PLEDGE? 
All individuals who sell tobacco, alternative 
nicotine and vapor products as well as holders of 
retail licenses should take the training. However, 
anyone who is interested may take the training 
free of charge. 

MAKE A PLEDGE
The program asks: 
•	 Iowa’s kids to pledge not to use 
tobacco, alternative nicotine and 
vapor products
•	 Iowa’s retailers to pledge not 
to sell tobacco, alternative nico-
tine and vapor products to kids 
•	 Iowa’s law enforcement to 
pledge to enforce tobacco, 
alternative nicotine and vapor 
products laws in the state

CIVIL & CRIMINAL PENALTIES
Violations for illegal sales of 
tobacco, alternative nicotine and 
vapor products to minors include 
a $100 criminal fine to the clerk 
as well as a $300 civil fine to the 
retail establishment for the first 
violation. Subsequent violations 
result in higher fines, license sus-
pension or even revocation.

CERTIFICATION
After successfully passing the 
final test, participants will receive 
a printable certificate of comple-
tion. The certification is valid for 
a period of two years. However, 
if an individual is cited for a sale-
to-minor, the certification is re-
voked. The training may be taken 
again for recertification.

Stephen Larson, Administrator

Find more information at  
https://abd.iowa.gov/

AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE
Establishments choosing to participate 
in I-PLEDGE training are granted an 
affirmative defense, which may be used 
once in a four-year period. A business 
may avoid civil prosecution if a tobacco, 
alternative nicotine or vapor product 

sale-to-minor violation occurs in their 
establishment. In order for the business 
to take advantage of the affirmative 
defense, the employee guilty of the 
violation must have been I-PLEDGE 
certified prior to the time the offense 

occurred. Only the business is eligible 
to avoid a civil penalty; the guilty 
employee will still be subject to a fine 
and his/her I-PLEDGE certification will 
be revoked.


