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Why should you participate in I-PACT? 
The overall goal of I-PACT is increased voluntary com-
pliance with the state’s alcohol laws through education 
and enforcement. The core objective of the program is 
to prevent illegal sales of alcohol by educating alcohol 
sellers and increasing awareness of changes in Iowa’s 
liquor laws. 

What will you learn from I-PACT? 
The content focuses on key identifying elements of 
the latest format of Iowa driver’s licenses, but also 
includes information on the previous version of licenses 
and identification cards. I-PACT covers the Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Act (Iowa Code chapter 123), valid 
forms of identification, and how to spot altered and 
fake IDs. The program focuses on preventing underage 
sales and sales to intoxicated patrons. Participants will 
learn techniques for refusing the sale of alcohol with 
minimal confrontation and how to legally confiscate an 
altered or fake ID. The training also includes regula-
tions and tips for offsite delivery of alcohol. 

Who should take the I-PACT? 
All individuals who sell alcohol for on- or off-premises 
consumption, as well as holders of retail alcohol 
licenses should take the training. However, anyone who 
is interested may take the training.

MAKE A PACT
The program asks that a PACT is 
made by:
•	 Iowa kids not to consume alcohol 
products.
•	 Iowa retailers not to sell alcohol 
to minors.
•	 Iowa licensees not to serve 
alcohol to patrons under 21.
•	 Iowa’s law enforcement to 
enforce alcohol laws.

CERTIFICATION
After successfully passing the 
final test, participants will receive 
a printable certificate of comple-
tion. The certification is valid for a 
period of two years. However, if an 
individual is cited for a sale-to-
minor, the certification is revoked. 
The training may be taken again for 
recertification.

SIGN UP
I-PACT is available 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week, at I-PACT.com 
or through the ABD’s website at 
https://abd.iowa.gov/

Stephen Larson, Administrator

Find more information at  
https://abd.iowa.gov/

Take the training at I-PACT.com

AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE
Establishments that choose to participate 
in the I-PACT training are granted an 
affirmative defense, which may be used  
once in a four-year period. A business 
may avoid civil prosecution if an alcohol 
sale-to-minor violation occurs in their 

establishment. In order for the business to 
take advantage of the affirmative defense, 
the employee guilty of the violation must 
have been I-PACT certified prior to the 
time the offense occurred. However, the 
affirmative defense cannot be used if the 

employee sold to a minor under the age of 
18. Only the business is eligible to avoid 
a civil penalty; the guilty employee will 
still be subject to a fine and their I-PACT 
certification will be revoked.

Civil & Criminal Penalties
Violations for illegal sales 
of alcohol to minors in-
clude a $500 criminal fine 
to the clerk, as well as a 
$500 civil fine to the retail 
establishment for the first 
violation. Subsequent vio-
lations can result in higher 
fines, license suspension 
or even revocation.


