




 
Thank you for taking the I-PLEDGE and partnering with the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division (ABD) to help 
keep tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products out of the hands of Iowa’s youth. This handbook is a  
valuable resource to assist in the successful completion of tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product  
enforcement initiatives. Relevant forms, sample letters and suggested procedures are contained in this  
publication. Feel free to make copies of these documents to complete necessary paperwork.  
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IOWA STATE PATROL TO PARTNER WITH IOWA  
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES DIVISION FOR TOBACCO, ALTERNATIVE  
NICOTINE AND VAPOR PRODUCT EDUCATION AND ENFORCEMENT 

[COMMUNITY], Iowa ([MONTH ##], 20##) – The Iowa State Patrol [District #] has taken a pledge to keep 
tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products out of the hands of [COMMUNITY] youth. 

Known as I-PLEDGE, the program is a partnership with the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division (ABD) to 
educate local retailers and to enforce Iowa’s tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product laws. Since 
the program’s inception in 2000, the statewide tobacco compliance rate has grown to 91%. By participating 
in the program, the Iowa State Patrol has committed to do its part to increase the compliance rate even 
more this year. 

I-PLEDGE places emphasis on retailer training. Clerks who successfully complete an online training course 
and then pass an exam will become I-PLEDGE certified. This allows a retail establishment to use an affirm-
ative defense against a civil penalty if the certified clerk makes an illegal sale.

“I-PLEDGE’s retailer training is a great way for clerks to prepare themselves to refuse illegal tobacco, 
alternative nicotine and vapor product sales,” [DISTRICT LIEUTENANT/SERGEANT] said. “The training 
also assists retailers to ensure they maintain a compliant and responsible establishment.” 

Troopers will also be conducting compliance checks on local establishments as part of the 
I-PLEDGE program. Underage customers, under the supervision of law enforcement officials, will enter 
establishments and attempt to buy tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products. Clerks who make the 
illegal sale will be cited on the spot.

Criminal penalties for selling tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products to a minor include a $100 fine 
for a first offense, a $250 fine for a second offense and a $500 fine for third and subsequent offenses. 
However, handing out citations is not the intent of the I-PLEDGE program. 

“By partnering with the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division, we hope to educate clerks and maintain a com-
pliant retail environment in our community,” [DISTRICT LIEUTENANT/SERGEANT] said. “Moreover, we 
pledge to help keep tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products out of the hands of Iowa’s youth.” 

To take the I-PLEDGE training or search certification records go to www.IowaABD.com. 

## 
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1. Issue a press release indicating your district is partnering with the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages 

Division to conduct compliance checks. A suggested press release is included on page 2 of this 
handbook and can be downloaded at www.IowaABD.com.  

 

►   Please do not provide retailers with advance notification of compliance checks. 

 
 
2. Complete and submit compliance checks on or before April 15, 2016.  
 
►  Try to complete compliance checks on seasonal businesses before the end of the 2015        

 business season but not before October 1st.  
  ► Use only Fiscal Year 2016 Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Enforcement 

Program forms included in this handbook, or download current forms at www.IowaABD.com.

          
 
3. Immediately issue a criminal citation to non-compliant clerks. Your district should notify the 

city or county attorney within 72 hours for criminal proceedings. Your district should also notify 
the business owner or manager of the tobacco/alternative nicoitne/vapor product violation within 
seven (7) business days. 

 

 
4. Complete and submit a second compliance check on violators only by May 30, 2016.   
 

 
 

NOTE: Compliance checks must be conducted at establishments during regular business hours.  
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Not all compliance checks may be classified as compliant or non-compliant. Below are a few circumstances law 
enforcement should be aware of to ensure accurate results are reported to ABD: 

 
► Establishment tells youth that the business no longer sells tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor products: The      

trooper should contact the city clerk/county auditor to determine if the business no longer holds a valid permit or if the 
business simply told the youth that the business no longer sells tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor products. If the 
business does have a valid permit, enter the compliance check as “compliant.”  

 
► Establishment no longer holds a valid permit: Submit the compliance check as “no longer holds a valid tobacco,  

alternative nicotine, or vapor product permit.” Make sure a compliance check was attempted if this selection is chosen. If you 
are aware an establishment on ABD’s list no longer holds a valid permit prior to attempting to conduct a compliance check at 
the establishment, contact your ABD investigator.  
 

►  Establishment is out of business: Submit the compliance check as “out of business.” Make sure a compliance check was 
attempted if this selection is chosen. If you are aware a business is no longer in operation prior to attempting to conduct a 
compliance check at the establishment, contact your ABD Investigator.  

 
► Youth is denied entry: Submit the compliance check as “compliant.” These establishments are typically “members only” or 

the youth is stopped at the door due to age. 
 
► Establishment is unsafe or inappropriate: Establishments that are unsafe or inappropriate for a minor to enter can be 

considered an “unsatisfactory condition.” However, to formally designate the establishment as an “unsatisfactory condition,” 
the trooper-in-charge must contact their ABD investigator prior to conducting the compliance check for confirmation. The 
trooper-in-charge must conduct a “walk-through” of the premises to ensure the establishment is in compliance with Iowa’s 
tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product laws. 

 
A full list of unable to complete reasons is provided below.  

III. Compliance Check Results -  
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Reason  

Out of business  

Valid permit but no sale  

Inaccessible by youth (explain in com-
ments) 

 

Private club (explain in comments)  

Temporary business closure  

Unable to locate business  

Wholesale/Carton sale only  

Broken vending machine  

Duplicate  

No longer holds valid permit  

Reason  

Unsatisfactory Condition (explain in comments)  

In operation but closed at time of visit  

Unsafe to access (explain in comments)  

Presence of law enforcement officials  

Youth inspector knows salesperson  

Moved to new location but not inspected  

Drive-thru only but youth inspector has no DL  

Tobacco/alternative nicotine/vapor product out 
of stock 

 

Run out of time  

Other non-completion (explain in comments)  



The I-PLEDGE Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Enforcement Program website allows law 
enforcement agencies to electronically file compliance check reports and submit results to ABD for payment 
online. Please follow the steps below to enter compliance check reports online.  
 

1. Access the site by visiting www.IowaABD.com; 
 

2. Click on the “I-PLEDGE Training & Enforcement Log In” link located under the TOBACCO banner at 
the top of the home page;  
 

3. Choose the “Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Enforcement Program.” and enter a 
“User ID” and “Password.”   

 
USER ID:  
Your User ID is the word “Post” plus the number of your district. As an example, if you are entering re-
sults for the Iowa State Patrol, District 1, your User ID is Post 1 (include space).  
 
PASSWORD:  
You will use the same password that you used during FY2015.  
 Your password is case sensitive, meaning capital and small letters must be in appropriate places.  
 Your password cannot contain symbols like &, *, or #, etc.   
 DO NOT USE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS AS A PASSWORD. 

 
 
If you experience difficulty accessing the I-PLEDGE Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product En-
forcement Program website, make sure you are using Internet Explorer as your web browser. If you are us-
ing Internet Explorer and continue to experience difficulty, contact ABD Investigator Bill Missman at 515-314-
3654 or via email at Missman@IowaABD.com. You may also contact Jessica Ekman at 515-281-7434 or Ek-
man@IowaABD.com.  
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A district has the discretionary option of entering the results of the compliance checks online. Reimbursement for the 
data entry will be paid at the going salary rate for the person entering the data. Please contact your ABD Investigator 
if your district would prefer to have ABD enter the compliance check results.  

 
Follow these easy steps to submit compliance reports online: 
Login:   
Login using your user ID and password. Please note both the user ID and password are case sensitive; 
meaning capital and lowercase letters must be in appropriate places. 
Disclaimer:   
A successful login will prompt a disclaimer screen. The disclaimer explains the terms of using the I-
PLEDGE Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Enforcement Program website. Agreeing to 
these terms allows you to enter the website and submit compliance reports.  
Locate Retailer:   
A screen with a list of retailers will appear. You may sort each column by clicking on the column heading. 
After locating the appropriate retailer, click on that retailer’s name and a screen with the retailer’s infor-
mation will appear.  
Enter Compliance Check Results:  
After arriving at the retailer information screen, scroll to the bottom and click on “Report Compliance.” A 
screen will appear that will allow you to enter compliance check results. Please complete all applicable 
fields accurately. If you do not see the “Report Compliance” button, make sure you are using Internet Ex-
plorer as your web browser.  
Submit Compliance Check Results:  
After entering the results of the compliance check, click on “Submit” located at the bottom of the screen. If 
an explanation is required, please ensure a complete and accurate explanation is provided in the com-
ments section. 
Letters to Retailers:  
After receiving the compliance report, ABD will send a notification of compliance to retailers who do not sell 
tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor products to underage youth and a notification of non-compliance to 
those who do sell. The notifications will be sent to retailers monthly.  
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REIMBURSEMENT BREAKDOWN  

ITEM COST 

Patrol Salaries  

     Officer Buyback Going Rate 

Confidential Informant Overhead (DPS-DNE in-
voices ABD)  

     Wages $10.00/hour (3 hours 
min.) 

     Meals $15.00 

     Tobacco Products Going Rate 

     Mileage $10.00 flat fee  
(if applicable) 

Questions or Problems?  

If you have problems submitting a report or 
have questions regarding the website, contact 
ABD Investigator Bill Missman at 515-314-3654 
or Missman@IowaABD.com. You may also 
contact Jessica Ekman at 515-281-7434 or Ek-
man@IowaABD.com.  



ABD has created the following suggested procedures for routine and fair monitoring of Iowa retail estab-
lishments licensed to sell tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products. 

 
Preparing for Compliance Checks 
The district should coordinate the participation of a minor to assist with the controlled-buy operation (compliance 
check). 

 

► Minors shall be 16 or 17 years of age. Minors under the age of 16 shall not be used to conduct  
     tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product compliance checks. 
 
►  All minors should be of good character. 
 
► Minors should have the appearance, demeanor, mannerisms and appropriate dress for their age group. Youth 

should refrain from wearing high school or college logos while conducting compliance checks.         
 
► All minors shall have a parent or guardian complete a Parent/Guardian Consent Form prior to the  
      scheduled compliance check date. Provide a copy of the consent form to the parent/guardian. 
 
► The citing trooper shall be available for testimony at hearings and district court proceedings at the request of the 

local/state prosecutor and shall advise local/state prosecutors and their ABD investigator as to the disposition of 
criminal citations. 

 
 

A Briefing Shall be Held Prior to Conducting Checks 
► Appearance: The trooper-in-charge should approve the minor’s appearance and a photo should be taken of the 

minor before each day of compliance checks. The minor’s appearance should not be changed after that point. 
 
► Official Identification: The trooper should verify the minor has proper, official identification showing date of 

birth. This shall be the only identification carried or presented throughout the course of the compliance check. 
The official identification should be an Iowa driver’s license. Make a photocopy of the minor’s ID.  

 
► Possessions: The minor should only have buy money provided by the district in his/her possession; no other 

money should be on his/her person. Check the minor and his/her possessions to ensure there are no tobacco, 
alternative nicotine or vapor products in his/her possession prior to the check. 

 
► Instructions: The minor should be instructed: 
 » As to what product he/she should attempt to purchase; 
 » Go directly to the targeted merchandise to attempt to make the purchase; 

» Speak only as necessary - at no time should the minor try to persuade the licensee/clerk to complete the      
sale; 

 » If asked about age, the minor should truthfully respond with how old he/she is; 
 » If asked for ID, the minor should present his/her ID to the licensee/clerk; 

» If the licensee/clerk takes a minor’s ID, tell the minor not to argue but to leave the store and the trooper will     
obtain the minor’s ID and congratulate the licensee for compliance;  

 » If a receipt of the purchase is offered, accept and maintain for evidence; 
 

► Termination: The trooper shall have the authority to terminate the operation at any time for safety reasons. 
 

  

NOTE: The success of the operation and the minor’s continued participation in tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor  
       product compliance checks is not dependent upon making successful purchases. 
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Law Enforcement Positioning 
► Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Retailers: If possible, the trooper should be stationed either 

inside the store or at a point from which the trooper can observe the sale. The trooper should not appear to be with 
the minor. 
 

  ► Bars/Restaurants: The minor should enter the establishment first and request a tobacco, alternative nicotine or 
vapor product. If possible, the trooper should enter the bar/restaurant after the minor and observe the purchase at-
tempt from a discreet location. The trooper should not appear to be accompanying the minor. Most bars/restaurants 
typically sell traditional tobacco products versus alternative nicotine and vapor products. An establishment where an 
employee checks the minor’s ID at the door and denies the minor access to the premises shall be considered to be 
compliant.  

 

Unsatisfactory Condition 

Establishments that are unsafe or inappropriate for a minor to enter can be considered an “unsatisfactory condition.” A 
minor should never be sent into an adult entertainment facility or bar where the trooper feels it is unsafe or inappropri-
ate for the minor. The majority of bars in Iowa do not fall under this condition. 
 
However, to formally designate the establishment as an “unsatisfactory condition,” the trooper-in-charge must contact 
their ABD investigator prior to conducting the compliance check for confirmation. Once the establishment has been 
formally designated as an “unsatisfactory condition,” the trooper-in-charge must conduct a “walk-through” of the prem-
ises to ensure the establishment is in compliance with Iowa’s tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product laws. In 
the event that ABD feels the check can safely be conducted, the district will be asked to complete the check. 
 

Vending Machines 

A vending machine which is accessible to a youth under age 18 is in violation of Iowa Code section 453A.36(6). If an 
establishment has a vending machine, the minor should be instructed to approach the retailer and specifically ask for 
change for the vending machine. If change is given, the minor should purchase tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor 
products from the machine and exit. Asking specifically for change for the vending machine helps to identify who to cite 
during a non-compliant vending machine sale.  
 

Audio/Video Recording 

Audio and video equipment may be utilized during compliance checks in lieu of trooper observation. 
 

Criminal Citation 

Immediately issue a criminal citation to an employee/clerk who sells a tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor product to 
a minor, a violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2(1). A citation must be issued before the district may receive payment.  
Selling a tobacco, alternative nicotine or vapor product to a minor is a scheduled violation, resulting in scheduled fines 
as follows: 
► 1st Offense: $100.00 plus surcharge and court costs 
► 2nd Offense: $250.00 plus surcharge and court costs 
► 3rd Offense: $500.00 plus surcharge and court costs 
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Youth Participant’s Name:  _______________________________________________________________________________  
 
Address:  _____________________________________________________________________________________________  
 
City: _____________________________________  State: ______  Zip:  ___________________________________________  
 
Home Phone Number: _________________________  Date of Birth:  ____________________________________________  
 
Social Security Number: ____________________________  Gender:  ____________________________________________  
 
Youth’s Driver License or Identification Card No.:  ___________________________________________________________  
 
► I understand my participation is voluntary and I will be under the supervision of a law enforcement of-

ficer at all times. 
 
► I understand it is essential to maintain the confidential nature of the program, therefore ensuring the 

effectiveness, accuracy and validity of the outcome. 
 
► I understand my participation in the project can be terminated at any time by myself, a parent or the law 

enforcement agency. 
 
► I understand compliance checks may result in the purchase of tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor 

products. I understand tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products will be treated as evidence and 
maintained by the law enforcement agency.  

 
►   I understand that I may be required to enter bars.  
 
► I understand retailers in violation of minimum-age tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product laws 

may receive citations that result in monetary fines, suspension or revocation of their license and that I 
may be asked to participate in the adjudication process. 

 
► I understand the success of the project is not dependent upon making successful, illegal purchases. 
 
My signature on this document verifies my willingness to participate in the project and to follow the rules 
and procedures outlined in the training. 
 
Youth Signature  _________________________________________  Date  ___________________  
 
I have read the Program Procedures and Youth Participant Guidelines and give my permission for my child 
to participate in this project. 
 
Parent/Guardian Signature  ________________________________  Date  ___________________  
 
Program Coordinator  ____________________________________  Date  ___________________  
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Retailer: ____________________________________  Address: _________________________________________________ 

 
City: _______________________________________________________  State: __________  ZIP: _____________________ 

If Unable to Complete the Compliance Check (check one) 
 

□ Establishment has a VALID PERMIT but Does Not Sell Tobacco, 

     Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products.  
- Permit Status Verified by City Clerk or County Auditor  
 

□ Establishment No Longer Holds a Valid Tobacco, Alternative 

     Nicotine or Vapor Product Permit 
 

□ Establishment is Out of Business 
 

□ Establishment is designated as an “Unsatisfactory Condition” 

- “Unsatisfactory Condition” verified by ABD Investigator 
- Trooper Conducted a Walk-Through of the Premises 
   (Explanation Required in Comments Section Below) 

►If none of the above reasons apply, write reason and explanation on  
the back of the form—see page 4 for reason list.  

  

RESULTS (check one): Compliant 
 

Date Checked: ____________ Non-Compliant 
 

Time Checked: ____________ Unable to Complete 
 (Not Applicable) 

Clerk Information: □ Male     □ Female 
 
(NAME ONLY REQUIRED IF NON-COMPLIANT):   

 

First Name: ________________  Middle Initial: _______ 
 

Last Name: ________________  Case #: ____________ 
 

           I have issued a criminal citation to the clerk listed above for selling tobacco,  
            alternative nicotine or vapor products to a person under age eighteen.   
            Iowa Code § 453A.2(1).  
 

(NOTE: If the compliance check result is Non-Compliant, a citation must be issued before your district may receive payment.) 
 

TROOPER INFORMATION (TROOPER THAT CONDUCTED COMPLIANCE CHECK): 
 

First Name: ___________________________  Middle Initial: _______  Last Name: __________________________________ 

 
Badge: _________________________  District: ___________________________________________________________ 

 
CONFIDENTIAL INFORMANT (CI): 
 

CI Age:  □ 16    □ 17    CI Gender:  □ Male   □ Female       CI Number:                                            (Last 4 digits of CI’s ID) 
 
 

CI Ethnicity:  □ White      □ Asian       □ African American       □ Native American       □ Hispanic           □ Other 

 
RESULTS OF ATTEMPTED PURCHASE: 
 

Attempted Purchase Item: □ Cigarettes       □ Smokeless Tobacco             □ Other Tobacco Product 
 

□ Alternative Nicotine       □ Vapor Product 
 

Age Requested? □ YES    □ NO         
 

ID Requested?    □ YES    □ NO    

       
 
 
Trooper Signature                                      Amount Due                                                 

COMMENTS: 

VIII. Compliance Check Form 
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Why are some of the retailers listed in the I-PLEDGE Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine 

and Vapor Product Enforcement Program website highlighted blue? 

Retailers that indicated they were an alternative nicotine/vapor store on their permit applications are 
highlighted in blue within the I-PLEDGE website. This does not mean that these retailers sell only 
vapor/alternative nicotine products but there is a high likelihood that this is the case. It is recommend-
ed that the trooper find out what products these retailers sell prior to conducting compliance checks. 
This way the trooper can ensure the youth is instructed to buy a product the retailer carries.  

Vapor Product: 
Any non-combustible product which may or may not contain nicotine, that employs a heating element, 
power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of 
shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from a solution or other substance. Vapor product 
includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product 
or device, and any cartridge or other container of a solution or other substance, which may or may not 
contain nicotine, that is intended to be used with or in an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electron-
ic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device. Vapor product does not include a product regu-
lated as a drug or device by the United States Food and Drug Administration under chapter V of the 
federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act.  

 
Alternative Nicotine Product: 
A product, not consisting of or containing tobacco, that provides for the ingestion into the body of nico-
tine, whether by chewing, absorbing, dissolving, inhaling, snorting, or sniffing, or by any other means. 
Alternative nicotine products do not include cigarettes, tobacco products, or vapor products, or a prod-
uct that is regulated as a drug or device by the United States Food and Drug Administration under 
chapter V of the federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act. 
 

Based on advice from the Iowa Attorney General’s Office, the last line of the above definition eliminates 
cessation products from being included under the law. Therefore, the purchase of cessation products should 

not be attempted during tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product compliance checks. The three 
types of over the counter cessation products currently approved by the FDA are nicotine gum, transder-
mal patches, and nicotine lozenges. 



 

Blu 
Starter Kit $34.99, Refill Cartridges $14.99,  Single Use Vape $9.99 

NJOY 
Vape Starter Kit $29.99, E-Juice $7.99 
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Finiti 
Single Use Vape $6.99, Starter Kit $24.99 

 New packaging item is called “Fin” 

MarkTEN 
Single Use Vape $10 

Vuse  
Digital Vapor Cigarettes 

Vape Starter Kit $24.99, Single Use Vape $9.99,  
V-Liquid (Refill Cartridge) $5.99 

South Beach Smoke  
Advanced Electronic Vaporizer 

Starter Kit $29.99, 10ml E-liquid $7.99 

Common Brands and Prices of Vapor Products Carried by  
Iowa Retailers: 

Please note these are only examples of prices and brands carried by some Iowa retailers. This infor-
mation was collected in 2014 and may have changed since that time. Not all retailers will carry these 
brands and prices may vary from what is shown. Having the youth attempt to purchase a refill cartridge 
or single use vape may be the most cost effective option, as these items have prices that are comparable 
to traditional tobacco products.  





 
 
 
 

Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division 
1918 SE Hulsizer Road 

Ankeny, IA 50021 
515.281.7400 
866.IowaABD 
IowaABD.com 

 

 
 


